Dream fulfilled


by Sal Larsen

 

Sal all smiles on the Churchill

Sal all smiles on the Churchill (photo: Tom Larsen)

Today was a red letter day for me: I got to stand watch on the tugboat.  Standing behind the wheel, I was so excited I thought I’d burst.  Remember the absolute joy you felt as a kid when you got to do something you had only dreamed of?  Well, multiply that feeling by a thousand and you’ll have some idea of how thrilled I was.  It was impossible to stop smiling.

So thank you Roger, Art, Erick and Kerry for teaching me what I needed to know, and for giving me the thrill of a lifetime.  Your generosity embodies the spirit of the whole tour and I am deeply grateful.

Sal Larsen
A graduate of Weslyan University, Sal has been a member of the museum for many years.  This is her first time as a volunteer aboard the Lois, and she has fulfilled a lifelong dream of helping crew on a tugboat.

About Lake Champlain Maritime Museum

The Lake Champlain Maritime Museum is a private non-profit museum located on the shores of Lake Champlain, just seven miles from Vergennes, Vermont. Our mission since our opening in 1985 is to share the rich history and archaeology of Lake Champlain and its surrounding region. We accomplish that through exhibits, education programs, special events, on-water activities, replica vessels, nautical archaeology research, and so much more. Learn more & get involved by visiting our website: www.lcmm.org.
This entry was posted in Schooner Lois McClure and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dream fulfilled

  1. Molly Dunphy says:

    Go Sal! That must have been really cool. Was it kinda scary steering? I would be scared. Hope you guys are all doing well and having a lot of fun.
    Molly
    p.s. high school is really fun and going great for me.

  2. Kent Strobel says:

    Welcome to the tug club Sal. I have to agree, taking the helm watch on the Churchill this summer was the most fun I have had in, well ever. Ask Art, I couldn’t stop smiling no matter how cool I tried to be. Great fun and the best crew a person could want to work with.

    Can’t wait for the next voyage.

    Fair winds to all,

    Kent Strobel

Leave a Reply

